skip to main content
Facebook Twitter
Dr. Askew Announced as Finalist for Principal of the Year
Posted On:
Friday, January 19, 2018
Dr. Garrick Askew
Dr. Garrick Askew

Congratulations to Dr. Askew who has been named as one of the six finalists for the Principal of the Year!

PRESS RELEASE:  January 17, 2018

GASSP Principal of the Year Finalists

Blairsville, Ga.: January 17, 2018 The Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals announces this year’s Principal of the Year Finalists.  The finalists are:

Garrick Askew—Lithia Springs HS, Douglas County

Dara Bennett---Pierce County HS. Pierce County

Sherri Berry—Coffee MS, Coffee County

Sonja Coaxum--Fort MS Service Learning Magnet Academy, Muscogee County

Julia Daniely, Westside HS, Bibb County

Kevin Gaines, Hart County HS, Hart County

The finalists were selected from a large pool of applications.  The application is an extensive review of the performance of their school based on data provided by the applicants.  The finalists will go through an interview in Athens to determine the Georgia Principal of the Year.

Dr. Garrick Askew is in his 10th year with the Douglas County School System, having served the past 6 years as principal at Lithia Springs High School. Speaking about his selection as a finalist, Askew stated “I am honored to be considered for the GASSP principal of the year award. The system [Douglas County Schools] has supported LSHS’ quest for excellence over the past 6 years. Also, we have a great group of educators at LSHS, who work hard for students each day. I hope to represent the best of what we [the LSHS faculty] do as a team, and what I do leading our efforts as principal during the interviews in Athens.” 

The Principal of the Year recognition program is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals and Association Member Benefit Advisor (AMBA).  The Georgia winner will represent the state in the competition for National Principal of the Year, sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.   The Principal of the Year program recognizes principals that excel in educational leadership, resolving complex problems, developing self and others, and community service.

GASSP’s 1300 members across Georgia are extremely proud of the finalists.  Melton Callahan, Executive Director of GASSP and JoAnn Bartoletti, Executive Director of NASSP, also offer their commendation for these outstanding school principals who personify excellence in providing quality leadership to their school communities.


View all Latest News